Skip to main content
  • Endowment Banners

Endowed Chairs and Professorships

The University of Maryland School of Medicine has 69 fully endowed chairs, distinguished professorships, and professorships. These vital positions support our faculty who advance medical education, discovery, and clinical innovation.

Click on any of the images below to learn more about an endowed position and the UMSOM faculty member who now holds it.

More Information

To learn how you can invest in faculty excellence through an endowed chair or professorship, contact the Office of Development at 410-706-8503.


Dr. Bizhan Aarabi Professor of Neurotrauma

J. Marc Simard, MD, PhD

Konstantin G. Birukov, MD, PhD

Anesthesiology Endowed Professor of Entrepreneurial Research

Konstantin G. Birukov, MD, PhD


Anesthesiology Endowed Professor of Translational Research

Wei Chao, MD, PhD, FAHA

Zhongjun Jon Wu, PhD

Peter Angelos Distinguished Professor of Entrepreneurial Surgical Science

Zhongjun Jon Wu, PhD

Alexander Krupnick

Peter Angelos Distinguished Professor of Surgery

Alexander S. Krupnick, MD

Jeffrey D. Hasday, MD

Dr. Herbert Berger Professor of Medicine 

Jeffrey D. Hasday, MD

E. Albert Reece

John Z. and Akiko K. Bowers Distinguished Professor and Dean

E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA

Lisa M. Shulman, MD

Eugenia Brin Endowed Professor of Parkinson's Disease and Movement Disorders

Lisa M. Shulman, MD

Stuart Martin

Drs. Angela and Harry Brodie Professor of Translational Cancer Research

Stuart S. Martin, PhD

Alan Faden, MD

David S. Brown Professor of Trauma

Alan I. Faden, MD

Thomas Hornyak

Dr. Joseph Warren Burnett Professor of Dermatology

Thomas J. Hornyak, MD, PhD

Christine Lau, MD, MBA

Dr. Robert W. Buxton Chair of Surgery

Christine L. Lau, MD, MBA

Investiture Medal

Frank M. Calia, MD Professor

Investiture Medal

Mary Gray Cobey Professor of Neonatology

Investiture Medal

R Adams Cowley, MD Professor of Shock and Trauma

Claire M. Fraser, PhD

Dean's Endowed Professor

Claire M. Fraser, PhD

Elias Melhem

Dean John M. Dennis Chair of Radiology

Elias R. Melhem, MD

Rajabrata Sarkar

Barbara Baur Dunlap Professor of Surgery

Rajabrata Sarkar, MD, PhD

Investiture Medal

Charles Reid Edwards, MD Professor of Surgery

William Regine, MD, FACR, FACRO

Isadore & Fannie Schneider Foxman Chair of Radiation Oncology

William F. Regine, MD, FACR, FACRO

Margaret McCarthy

James and Carolyn Frenkil Dean's Professor

Margaret M. McCarthy, PhD

James Kaper, PhD

James and Carolyn Frenkil Distinguished Dean's Professor

James B. Kaper, PhD

Chris Harman

Sylvan Frieman, MD Endowed Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology & Reproductive Sciences

Christopher Harman, MD

George Lewis

Robert C. Gallo, MD Endowed Professor of Translational Medicine

George K. Lewis, PhD


Marlene & Stewart Greenebaum Distinguished Professor of Oncology

Kevin J. Cullen, MD

Mohan Suntha

Marlene & Stewart Greenebaum Professor of Radiation Oncology

Mohan Suntha, MD, MBA


Marlene & Stewart Greenebaum Professor of Radiation Oncology

Isabel L. Jackson, PhD

Seemant Chaturvedi, MD

Stewart J. Greenebaum Endowed Professor of Stroke Neurology

Seemant Chaturvedi, MD


Simon and Bessie Grollman Distinguished Professor

Myron M. Levine, MD, DTPH

Robert C. Gallo, MD

Homer & Martha Gudelsky Distinguished Professor of Medicine

Robert C. Gallo, MD

Bartley P. Griffith, MD

Thomas E. and Alice Marie Hales Distinguished Professor of Transplant Surgery

Bartley P. Griffith, MD


Peter Rock, MD, MBA

Dr. Martin A. Helrich Chair of Anesthesiology

Peter Rock, MD, MBA

Masahiro Iwamoto, PhD

Maxwell Hurston, MD Distinguished Professor of Orthopaedics

Masahiro Iwamoto, PhD

Steven Czinn

Drs. Rouben and Violet Jiji Endowed Professor

Steven J. Czinn, MD

Aaron Rapoport

Gary Jobson Professor of Medical Oncology

Aaron P. Rapoport, MD

Thomas M. Scalea, MD, FACS, MCCM

The Honorable Francis X. Kelly Distinguished Professor of Trauma Surgery 

Thomas M. Scalea, MD

Andrew N. Pollak, MD

James Lawrence Kernan Professor and Chair of the Department of Orthopaedics

Andrew N. Pollak, MD

Kathleen Neuzil, MD, MPH, FIDSA

Myron M. Levine, MD, DTPH Professor of Vaccinology

Kathleen M. Neuzil, MD, MPH, FIDSA


Carl M. Mansfield, MD Endowed Professor of Radiation Oncology

Cedric X. Yu, DSc, FAAPM

silhouette of man

Paul N. Manson, MD Distinguished Professor of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Michael P. Grant, MD, PhD


Matjasko Professor of Anesthesiology Education

Mary J. Njoku, MD

Gary M. Fiskum, PhD

Matjasko Professor of Anesthesiology Research

Gary M. Fiskum, PhD


Dr. Joseph S. McLaughlin Professor of Cardio-Thoracic Surgery

Bradley S. Taylor, MD, MPH

Investiture Medal

Hamish S. and Christine C. Osborne Distinguished Professor of Advanced Pulmonary Care 

Jean-Pierre Raufman, MD

Moses Paulson, MD and Helen Golden Paulson Chair of the Division of Gastroenterology & Hepatology

Jean-Pierre Raufman, MD

Investiture Medal

Professor of Pediatric Cardiology


Campbell and Jeanette Plugge Professor of Surgery

John A. Olson, MD, PhD

Stephen G. Reich, MD

Frederick Henry Prince Distinguished Professor of Neurology

Stephen G. Reich, MD


Joan B. and John H. Sadler, MD Professor of Nephrology

Terry J. Watnick, MD

Tori Marchese, PhD, PT

Jane Kroh Satterfield Endowed Professor of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Science

Victoria G. Marchese, PhD, PT


Investiture Medal

Elijah B. Saunders, MD Professor of Hypertension


Sharon Henry, MD

Anne Scalea Professor of Trauma

Sharon M. Henry, MD

David T. Efron, MD

Thomas M. Scalea, MD Distinguished Professor of Trauma

David T. Efron, MD

Investiture Medal

John A. Scholl, MD and Mary Louise Scholl, MD Professor of Pediatrics


Joseph and Corinne Schwartz Professor of Surgery

Jian-Ying Wang, MD, PhD

Investiture Medal

Albert Shapiro, MD Professor of Dermatology

Charles Hong, MD, PhD

Melvin Sharoky, MD Professor of Medicine

Charles C. Hong, MD, PhD

Investiture Medal

Charles Gordon Smith Endowed Professor of HIV Research

Jill Rachbeisel

Dr. Irving J. Taylor Professor and Chair of the Department of Psychiatry

Jill RachBeisel, MD


Peter Crino

Dr. Richard and Kathryn Taylor Endowed Professor of Neurology 

Peter B. Crino, MD, PhD



R. K. Thompson, MD Professor of Neurosurgery

Howard M. Eisenberg, MD

Investiture Medal

Thompson-Hevey Professor of Neurosurgery

Investiture Medal

Elizabeth L. Tso, MD Professor of Emergency Medicine


John F.B. Weaver Professor

Richard L. Eckert, PhD

Alan Shuldiner

John L. Whitehurst Professor of Medicine

Alan R. Shuldiner, MD

Investiture Medal

Donald E. Wilson, MD, MACP Distinguished Professor


Celeste Lauve Woodward, MD Professor of Humanism and Ethical Medical Practice

Susan D. Wolfsthal, MD

Stephen Davis, MBBS

Theodore E. Woodward Chair of Medicine

Stephen N. Davis, MBBS

Robert V. O'Toole, MD

Hansjörg Wyss Medical Foundation Professor of Orthopaedic Trauma

Robert V. O'Toole, MD

Michael J. Naslund, MD

John D. Young, Jr. Professor of Urology 

Michael J. Naslund, MD

Curt I. Civin, MD

Philip A. Zaffere Distinguished Professor of Regenerative Medicine

Curt I. Civin, MD