Skip to main content


Research Divisions 

Bankole Johnson, DSc, MD 
The Dr. Irving J. Taylor Professor and Chair

The Department is dedicated to training providers of the highest caliber, as well as providing top-quality mental health services to all who need it, no matter their age, race, or economic status.

We are proud to house research programs that, together, represent one of the most comprehensive programs of research on psychotic disorders.

Learn more about our Research Divisions 

Faculty Profile

Clinical Divisions 

Jill A. RachBeisel, MD 
Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs

The operations among our clinical Divisions focus on population health initiatives, new challenges of the global budget, and increasing demands of mental and behavioral health services. 

We aim to provide the highest level of personalized, collaborative care for our patients, as well as serve as their ambassadors on the city, state, and federal public policy level. 

Learn more about our Clinical Divisions

Faculty Profile

Office of Education 

Mark Ehrenreich, MD
Chief of Medical Education

The University of Maryland/Sheppard Pratt Psychiatry Residency Program is designed to train residents to be exceptional psychiatrists.

Learn more about our Office of Education

Faculty Profile

Maryland Psychiatric Research Center (MPRC)

Robert W. Buchanan, MD

The Maryland Psychiatric Research Center (MPRC) is dedicated to providing treatment to patients with schizophrenia and related disorders, educating professionals and consumers about schizophrenia, and conducting basic and translational research into the manifestations, causes, and treatment of schizophrenia.

Learn more about MPRC

Faculty Profile