Skip to main content

2024 News

UMMC Physician of the Year Nominations

April 03, 2024

In celebration of "National Doctors Day" on March 30th, the University of Maryland Medical Center (UMMC) held its fifth annual award of UMMC Physicians of the Year. Medical staff members, residents, and fellows vote on this honor awarded to faculty who go above and beyond to model patient-centered, high-quality, and safe care while demonstrating a strong commitment to the mission and values of UMMC.

We congratulate all the Anesthesiologists nominated for UMMC's Physicians of the Year.

Anesthesiology Faculty nominated, along with comments that were received:

  • Song Fu: "Phenomenal educator, extremely patient, always calm under pressure. Someone I aspire to be like."
  • Matt Tulis: "As clinical director for the anesthesiology team, Tulis is a true team player, constant problem solver, and key enabler for providing access for all surgical and medical patients. Very easy to work with, extremely intelligent, and makes work enjoyable and fun." 
  • Megan Anders: "Leader in Quality and Safety"
  • Ross Carpenter:  "Acute attention to fellow/resident education."
  • Samuel Galvagno: "Professional, caring towards patients and families, works well with staff, excellent physician educator."
  • Seema Deshpande: "Excellent dedication to resident/fellow education, coupled with attention to patient care."
  • Robert Noorani: "Very skilled, great educator, extremely competent physician who makes you feel very comfortable as a trainee."
  • Shaun Moeller: "Stellar teacher in both OR and ICU, devoted to resident education and advancing clinical care. He is an excellent model, leading hospital committees, research projects, and medical student clerkships while providing excellent clinical care."
  • Rene Henderson: "Excellent dedication to resident/fellow teaching and dedication to patient care."
  • Ron Samet: "Established and continues to develop and advance pathways to alleviate pain. Phenomenal clinician., Also, he extends himself beyond the hospital as a volunteer in various communities."


Department of Anesthesiology
(410) 328-6120 (phone)
(410) 328-5531 (fax)