Skip to main content

2016 Archive

2024 News | 2023 Archive | 2022 Archive | 2021 Archive | 2020 Archive | 2019 Archive | 2018 Archive | 2017 Archive | 2016 Archive | 2015 And Older Archive

Kenichi Tanaka, MD, Professor in Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology, is co-author on an editorial in the December 2016 issue of Anesthesia and Analgesia, "SEER Sonorheometry: Listening to What the Clot Has to Say."  Dr. Tanaka is also featured in the recent issue of British Journal of Anaesthesia as co-author on the article, “Fibrinogen – Is It a Universal Haemostatic Agent?”

Six Department of Anesthesiology faculty were recently named "2016 Top Docs" in the November 2016 issue of Baltimore Magazine. Congratulations to:  Mark DiMino, MD and Edwin Villamater, MD - University of Maryland Rehabilitation and Orthopaedic Institute;  Patrick Odonkor, MB, ChB - Cardiac Anesthesiology;  Monique Bellefleur, MD, Madhavi Naik, MBBS, and Anne Savarese, MD - Pediatric Anesthesiology. 

Congratulations to our Trauma Anesthesiology team, who were featured in the video, “When Seconds Count….Trauma Physician Anesthesiologists Save Lives.” This video has been nominated for a 2015-2016 Emmy by the Chicago/Midwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. The video was produced by Ryan Koscielniak, Executive Producer, Clyde Media, LLC/Public Communications Inc./American Society of Anesthesiologists.

Congratulations to Yvette Fouche, MD, Assistant Professor in Trauma Anesthesiology for her election to the Board of Directors of the Trauma Anesthesiology Society.

Michael Mazzeffi, MD, Assistant Professor, was named Director of Resident Research Education and Scholarly Development at the University of Maryland Medical Center. This recently-launched program is designed to enhance scholarly activity in the Department of Anesthesiology Residency Program.

Gary Fiskum, PhD, Professor; Samuel Galvagno, DO, PhD, FCCM, Assistant Professor, Peter Hu, PhD, Associate Professor; Colin Mackenzie, MB, ChB, FRCA, FCCM, Professor Emeritus; Napoleon Roux, MD, Clinical Assistant Professor; and Shiming Yang, PhD, Assistant Professor, participated in the August 2016 Military Health System Research Symposium (MHSRS) in Kissimmee, Florida.

Congratulations to Alan Faden, MD, who was appointed as the inaugural Scientific Co-Director for the Center for Sports Medicine, Health and Human Performance (CSMHHP), a University of Maryland, College Park and University of Maryland, Baltimore initiative to promote research, education, and clinical care to improve the health of athletes and physically active individuals across their lifespan.

Congratulations to Paul Bigeleisen, MD, who received the prestigious Bruce Scott Award by the Regional Anesthesiology Division of the Royal College of Anaesthetists.

Congratulations to Samuel Galvagno, DO, PhD, FCCM, for being selected for the Physician Colleague Award in the School of Nursing for 2016.

Congratulations to our recently promoted faculty members in 2016: Shiming Yang, PhD – Research Associate to Assistant Professor; David Loane, PhDBogdan Stoica, MD, and Caron Hong, MD, MSc – Assistant Professor to Associate Professor; Maureen McCunn, MD, MIPP, FCCM – Associate Professor to Professor; and Colin Mackenzie, MB, ChB, FRCA, FCCM – Professor to Professor Emeritus.