Skip to main content

2015 And Older Archive

2015 And Older Archive

2024 News | 2023 Archive | 2022 Archive | 2021 Archive | 2020 Archive | 2019 Archive | 2018 Archive | 2017 Archive | 2016 Archive | 2015 And Older Archive


  • Wendy Nguyen, MD and Erik Smith, MD participate in Resident Legislative Day
  • Congratulations to the University of Maryland Medical Center 2015 Nursing Award recipients
  • Scientific discoveries of Alan Faden, MD, David Loane, PhD and Junfang Wu, BM, PhD are featured in the University of Maryland Medicine Bulletin
  • Marta M. Lipinski, Ph.D. awarded a 5-year, $1,678,905 R01 grant


  • Ron E. Samet, MD and team of bioengineering students win First Place and Audience Choice Award in the Pitch Dingman Competition
  • 4 Department of Anesthesiology Physicians Named 2014 Top Docs by Baltimore Magazine
  • Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist, Faresha Sims, DNAP, CRNA named August Employee of the Month
  • The Program in Regional Anesthesia was featured in the University of Maryland Rounds


  • ACGME approves accreditation of Obstetric Anesthesiology Fellowship


  • Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Fellowship Program receives a 5-year accreditation cycle
  • Generous Gift from Former Department Chair Funds Two Endowed Professorships in Anesthesiology
  • Edward J. Norris, MD, MBA, Named Chief of Veterans Affairs' Department of Anesthesiology
  • Alina Grigore M.D., Associate Professor, Appointed Director of Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology


  • Thelma Wright, MD, Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology, Featured on Fox 45's "Your Health Matters"
  • University of Maryland School of Medicine Anesthesiologist Among the Region's Best
  • Alan Faden, MD, Appointed ORC Director; Bringing a Team of 15 and $7 Million to the Department
  • New NIH Grant Award for Traumatic Brain Injury Research