Skip to main content

2022 Archive

2024 News | 2023 Archive | 2022 Archive | 2021 Archive | 2020 Archive | 2019 Archive | 2018 Archive | 2017 Archive | 2016 Archive | 2015 And Older Archive

Monday, December 19, 2022

Dr. Wright’s New $500K NIH Grant

Congratulations to Thelma Wright, MD, JD, Associate Professor on her new NIH grant collaborating with UMBC researchers titled “A novel continuous real-time non-invasive CO2 monitor to help prevent death in the underserved minority population from opioid overdose”.

Monday, December 12, 2022

Congratulations to Drs. Kahntroff and Wright on completing UMB's Faculty Leadership Program

Congratulation to Drs. Kahntroff and Wright for completing UMB's Faculty Leadership Program

Monday, November 28, 2022

Dr. Samuel Galvagno contributes to worldwide research and education

Dr. Galvagno hosted two distinguished visitors from the Ukraine, published a key paper in JAMA and lectured at the 2022 Asian Australian Congress of Anesthesiologists

Friday, October 14, 2022

2022 Anesthesiology Research Retreat

2022 Anesthesiology Research Retreat

Thursday, October 13, 2022

2022 Faculty Promotions

2022 Faculty Promotions

Wednesday, September 21, 2022

UMMC House Staff Association Selections

Anesthesiology residents and fellow selected by UMMC House Staff Association

Monday, August 22, 2022

Congratulations to Dr. Wright Appointed the New President of the Medical Staff and Chair of the Medical Executive Committee (MEC) at UMRehab

Congratulations to Thelma B. Wright, MD, JD, MBA, Associate Professor as she accepts the “gavel” as president of the medical staff and chair of the Medical Executive Committee (MEC) at the University of Maryland Rehabilitation & Orthopedic Institute; from the outgoing president S. Ashfaq Hasan, MD.

Monday, June 20, 2022

Congratulations to Dr. Gourdine awardee of the Physician Colleague Award

Please join us in congratulating Ashlee Gourdine, MD, Obstetric Anesthesiology Fellow, who earned the Physician Colleague Award from the School of Nursing. She was the chosen awardee from all anesthesiology residents and fellows. The Physician colleague awards recognized Dr. Gourdine for her strong service, teaching, leadership, and collaboration skills with nursing students.

Monday, June 06, 2022

Congratulations to Dr. Scharf on her award at the 2022 Society for Obstetric Anesthesiology and Perinatology Annual Meeting

Congratulations to Dr. Scharf an obstetric anesthesia division fellow on her awards at the Society for Obstetric Anesthesiology and Perinatology (SOAP) 2022 Annual Meeting

Thursday, May 05, 2022

Congratulations to Dr. Gary Fiskum the awardee of The 2022 Colin Mackenzie & Cristina Imle Mentoring Prize

After careful deliberation, the selection committee has awarded The 2022 Mackenzie/Imle Mentoring Prize to Gary Fiskum, Ph.D., The M. Jane Matjasko Professor for Research and Vice-Chair for Research.

Wednesday, April 27, 2022

Congratulations to Dr. Peter Rock for receiving the UMB ICTR Innovative Collaboration Pilot Grant

The Institute for Clinical and Translational Research (ICTR) recently announced its 2022 UMB ICTR Accelerated Translational Incubator Pilot (ATIP) Grant awardees.

Monday, April 25, 2022

Congratulations to the nominees for the 2022 “Attending Physician of the Year” Award

In celebration of “National Doctors Day,” we would like to congratulate all the nominees for this year's “Attending Physician of the Year” award.

Wednesday, April 06, 2022

Faculty Awarded Patent Approvals

Faculty Awarded Patent Approvals

Thursday, January 13, 2022

Faculty Elected to the AUA Membership

Congratulations to Konstantin G. Birukov, MD, Ph.D., Marta Lipinski, Ph.D., Brian Polster, Ph.D. for being elected as Active Members, and Brittney Williams, MD as Associated Member of the Association of University Anesthesiologists (AUA)

Thursday, December 09, 2021

Dr. Thelma B. Wright selected to receive the 2022 UMBrella Person of the Year

Dr. Thelma B. Wright was selected to receive the 2022 UMBrella Person of the Year Award