Skip to main content

Diversity Dinner and Celebration

2024 Diversity Dinner and Celebration

Diversity Dinner and Celebration:
Shaping Inclusive Excellence in Medicine

Saturday, February 24, 2024
5:15 - 10:30 p.m.

M&T Bank Exchange
France-Merrick Performing Arts Center
401 W. Fayette Street
Baltimore, MD 21201

Tickets are $175.00 each.
This includes complimentary parking, a cocktail reception, dinner, beverages, dessert, and access to the after-party.

About the Celebration

Schedule of Events

 5:15 pm Registration Opens
 5:30 pm  Cocktail Reception
 6:30 pm  Dinner and Program
 8:30 pm  Dessert Reception, Live Band and Dancing
10:30 pm Event Concludes

The Diversity Dinner and Celebration: Shaping Inclusive Excellence in Medicine (formerly the Celebrating Diversity Celebration) is a prestigious event dedicated to recognizing and celebrating the rich tapestry of diversity within the University of Maryland School of Medicine.

This gathering honors faculty and alumni for their outstanding contributions to the community while highlighting the school’s unwavering commitment to fostering inclusivity in medical education and practice. Rooted in the spirit of unity, this celebration aims to showcase the exceptional achievements that arise from diversity, all while furthering the cause of equal access to medical education and practice.

While the name and location are new, the mission remains the same — to honor diversity at the School of Medicine, to recognize those who have helped increase diversity at the school, and to raise money for the Dean Emeritus Donald E. Wilson Endowed Scholarship Fund, as well as fortifying other diversity scholarships and initiatives that cultivate the talents of underrepresented individuals. 


Dean Mark T. Gladwin, MD

Mark T. Gladwin, MD
Vice President for Medical Affairs, UM Baltimore
John Z. and Akiko K. Bowers Distinguished Professor and
Dean, University of Maryland School of Medicine


Wonder Drake

Wonder P. Drake, MD
Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
Director of Sarcoidosis Program, Center of Excellence

Sandra Quezada

Sandra M. Quezada, MD, MS
Associate Dean for Medical School Admissions
Associate Dean for Faculty Diversity and Inclusion
Professor, Department of Medicine


Laura Hererra Scott

Laura Herrera Scott, MD
Secretary of Health
Office of Secretary, Maryland Department of Health

Mark Anthony Thomas

Mark Anthony Thomas
President & CEO
Greater Baltimore Committee

Nominations for Dean's Faculty and Alumni Awards

Each year, the Dean’s Faculty and Alumni Awards for Diversity and Inclusion are presented at this event. These awards recognize an individual SOM faculty member and medical school alumnus for their outstanding contributions in promoting diversity and inclusion within the field of medicine and/or the recruitment and retention of under-represented minorities.

Nominations for these awards are due by Friday, January 12, 2024.

Award Nomination Criteria & Submission Information

Dean Emeritus Donald E. Wilson Endowed Scholarship Fund

Gifts to the Dean Wilson Scholarship help driven and qualified students of all backgrounds get the support they need to succeed at the University of Maryland School of Medicine.

KaƩla Kuitchoua

Kaéla Kuitchoua, '24

Last year's Dean Emeritus Donald E. Wilson Scholarship Recipient

Learn more about Kaéla


For More Information

For additional information about the 2024 Diversity Dinner and Celebration, please contact:

Julie Ecke 
Director of Special Events


Thank You To Our Diversity Dinner and Celebration Sponsors!

Sponsorship Opportunities

To learn more about sponsorship opportunities, please contact:

Julie Ecke
Director of Special Events 

Premier Sponsor


Platinum Sponsors

Medical Alumni Association logo

Tedco logo

Mercy Medical Center logo

University of Maryland Medical System logo

Gold Sponsors

  • Dr. and Mrs. Donald Wilson
  • Kelly Benefits Strategies

Silver Sponsors

  • Chesapeake Telemedicine
  • Banks Contracting Company

Bronze Sponsors

  • University of Maryland School of Medicine Department of Neurobiology
  • Shock Trauma Associates, P.A.
  • University of Maryland Medical Center / University of Maryland Children's Hospital
  • FutureCare Health and Management Corporation

Social Media & Photo Booth Sponsor

  • University System of Maryland Foundation