Skip to main content
  • Meet our 2018-2019 T32 Fellows

    Meet our 2019-2020 T32 Fellows

CVD Leadership

Kathleen Neuzil, MD, MPH, FIDSA

Kathleen Neuzil, MD, MPH, FIDSA
Director

Kathleen Neuzil, MD, MPH, FIDSA, Professor of Medicine and Pediatrics, is Director of the Center for Vaccine Development and Global Health. Dr. Neuzil is one of the world’s preeminent scientists and advocates in vaccine science and policy. Throughout her career, she has conducted clinical and epidemiologic studies on vaccine-preventable diseases, including work on influenza and rotavirus, that have informed domestic and international vaccine policy.

Karen Kotloff, MD

Karen Kotloff, MD
Associate Director for Clinical Research

Dr. Kotloff is Professor of Pediatrics and a pediatric infectious disease specialist. She has served as Principal Investigator on some of the largest projects related to child health and mortality prevention. Her research covers respiratory diseases such as pneumonia as well as research into enteric diseases such as rotavirus, Shigella, cholera and typhoid. Dr. Kotloff’s research has been instrumental in helping to set prevention policy including a strong footing for vaccine development and distribution in low-resource global settings.

Miriam Laufer, MD

Miriam Laufer, MD
Associate Director for Malaria Research

Dr. Laufer is Professor of Pediatrics and a pediatric infectious diseases specialist with over 15 years of experience in conducting epidemiological and translational research with a focus of translating scientific discovery into clinically relevant strategies to improve the health of people living in malaria-endemic countries. Much of her work has focused on maternal immunization as well as drug-resistance. Dr. Laufer leads a team of dynamic and world-renowned researchers who work towards accelerating malaria elimination.

Marcelo Sztein, MD

Marcelo Sztein, MD
Associate Director for Basic and Translational Research

Dr. Sztein is Professor of Pediatrics and Associate Director for Immunologic Studies. He established the Immunology Group to centralize and expand interdisciplinary efforts in translational research, a “bench to bedside” program with the ultimate goal of accelerating vaccine development and usage. He is an accomplished investigator in the area of immunology of infectious diseases and cytokine immunobiology. Dr. Sztein is a recognized international authority in the study of the human host systemic and mucosal immune responses to vaccination (with or without adjuvants) and the identification of immunological mechanisms of protection from infection in human and animal models, particularly in the field of infectious enteric diseases.  Projects encompass the study of systemic and gastrointestinal mucosal immune responses in volunteers participating in challenge studies and in vaccine trials of genetically engineered vaccine strains such as attenuated Salmonella Typhi and Shigella (alone or as a carrier of foreign genes), Vibrio cholerae,  Enteroaggregative E. coli, Plasmodium falciparum, Salmonella Paratyphi A and B, non-typhoidal Salmonella (NTS), invasive NTS, Dengue virus, Francisella tularensis, influenza, hepatitis and Ebola.

.

Administration

Henry Seifert
Chief Financial Officer
Email: hseifert@som.umaryland.edu
Phone: 410-706-5328

Olga Aquino
Contracts & Grants Specialist, Pre-Award
Phone: 410-706-5328

Tiania Bellamy
Administrative Assistant
Email: tbellamy@som.umaryland.edu
Phone: 410-706-5328

Daniel Beren
Contracts and Grants Specialist, Pre-Award
Email: dberen@som.umaryland.edu
Phone: 410-706-0526

Victoire Bikoi
Contracts and Grants Specialist, Post Award
Email: vbikoi@som.umaryland.edu
Phone: 410-706-4904

Khristy Bozylinski-Bulos, MS
Program Director, CVD
Email: KBozylinski-Bulos@som.umaryland.edu
Phone: 410-706-8095

Carmen Cruz
Senior Accountant
Email: carmen.cruz@som.umaryland.edu
Phone: 410-706-3503

Nicole Eddington Johnson, MS, MPH
Program Director
Email: nejohnson@som.umaryland.edu
Phone: 410-706-2359
Fax: 410-706-6205
Skype: neddington

Diane Egorugwu, MPH
Senior Program Specialist
Email: DEgorugwu@som.umaryland.edu
Phone: 410-706-3502

Deborah Ingram, MBA
Director of Finance
Email: dingram@som.umaryland.edu
Phone: 410-706-7395

Caroline Kairo
Program Specialist
Email: ckairo@som.umaryland.edu
Phone: 410-706-8695

Aye Mar, MS
Senior Accountant
Email: aamar@som.umaryland.edu
Phone: 410-328-7337

Carey Martin, MA, MBA
Office Manager
Email: carey.martin@som.umaryland.edu
Phone: 410-706-4811

Joanne Morrison
Director of Marketing and Public Relations
Email: jmorrison@som.umaryland.edu
Phone: 410-706-2884

Dottie Small
Executive Assistant to the Associate Dean for Global Health,
Vaccinology, and Infectious Diseases
Email: dsmall@som.umaryland.edu
Phone: 410-706-7588