Skip to main content

About Us

Department staff at work

The Division of Nephrology in the Department of Medicine at the University of Maryland School of Medicine was directed by John H. Sadler, MD from 1972-1994. Since 1994, Matthew R. Weir, MD has been the Director of the Division. In this period of time, the program has grown from eight to twenty three faculty members.

The clinical program includes an active out-patient practice where we see patients with kidney diseases of all types, including glomerular disease and cystic diseases at several clinics, both at the University of Maryland Medical Center and the Baltimore VA Medical Center.. Kidney biopsies are done at both sites and we have close interaction with our two Nephropathologists at these sites. We manage patients with end-stage renal disease, including both hemo and peritoneal dialysis.

The Division participates in a large multi-organ transplant program and has multiple services within both the University of Maryland Medical Center, the Baltimore VA Medical Center, and the R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center.

The division also has several research centers including: The Baltimore Center for the study of Polycystic Kidney Disease, directed byTerry Watnick, MD, the Early Renal Insufficiency and Safe Kidney Programs, directed by Jeffrey C. Fink, MD,MS. , he Transplant Clinical Research Program, directed by Abdolreza Haririan, MD, MPH, in conjunction with the director of the Division of Transplantation, Jonathan Bromberg, MD, PhD, and the Renal Physiology Program, including Thomas Pallone, MD, in conjunction with the Department of Physiology scientists, Paul Welling, MDMordecai Blaustein, MD, and James C. Wade, PhD.

The Division currently has 16 active NIH RO1 and VA Merit Review grants and has site PIs for the CRIC, ALTOLD, and the VA Nephron-D studies. There are also multiple RO1 funded ancillary studies.