Skip to main content

Program In Lung Healing Advisory Council


The Program in Lung Healing Advisory Council works in consult with the Program’s Executive Committee and the Office of Development to:

  • provide input, entrepreneurial expertise and business acumen to evaluate the program’s strengths, needs and key objectives
  • assure the resources necessary to realize its goals by helping to identify, cultivate and solicit prospective donors for philanthropic gifts capable of transforming the program
  • provide advice and guidance on increasing the visibility and stature of the Program locally, regionally, nationally and internationally.

Advisory Council members are patients, UMB alumni, local and national community leaders, SOM faculty and staff who are committed to better options and life quality for the vast number of people who suffer with breathlessness.

Community Advisors

Hamish Osborne, Chair

Christine Osborne

Amy Barkley
Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids

Teresa Barnes
Coalition for Pulmonary Fibrosis

Thomas & Alice-Marie Hales

Terence Hales

Elizabeth Hutchinson

Joan Leonard

Frances Maffitt

Patricia Reilly

Victoria Slaton

Executive Director

Bartley P. Griffith, MD
Thomas E. and Alice Marie Hales Distinguished Professor in Transplant Surgery

Faculty Advisors

Aldo T. Iacono, MD
Hamish S. and Christine C. Osborne Professor in
Advanced Pulmonary Care, Director of Outreach and
Consultative Services

Jeffrey D. Hasday, MD
Herbert Berger Professor of Medicine and Head,
Pulmonary & Critical Care Division

Jay A. Menaker, MD
Associate Professor of Surgery
Medical Director, Lung Rescue Unit

Si M. Pham, MD
Professor of Surgery
Surgical Director Lung Rescue Unit

Richard “Robin” N. Pierson III, MD
Professor and Senior Associate Vice Chair for Research,
Department of Surgery

Executive Leadership

Thomas M. Scalea, MD, FACS, MCCM
Honorable Francis X. Kelly Distinguished Professor of
Trauma Surgery Director, Program in Trauma

Stephen T. Bartlett, MD, FACS
Peter Angelos Distinguished Professor of Surgery
Chair, Department of Surgery

Stephen M. Davis, MBBS
Theodore E. Woodward Endowed Chair and the Professor and Chairman of the Department of Medicine


Karen Hussey, CFRE
Director of Development, Department of Surgery

For more information, please contact:

Karen K. Hussey, Director of Development
University of Maryland School of Medicine
31 S. Greene Street, Baltimore, MD 21201
410-706-2846 o
443-743-0589 c