Skip to main content

Division of Medical Physics

Amit Sawant, PhD

Chief of Medical Physics

Amit Sawant, PhD
Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology

Shifeng Chen

Associate Chief of Medical Physics

Shifeng Chen, PhD
Associate Professor of Radiation Oncology

Dr. Rodrigues Thermal Therapy


  • Oversee technical aspects of patients’ radiation treatments
  • Ensure the safe and effective use of radiation for the treatment of patients
  • Develop and evaluate novel therapeutic approaches.

We aim to achieve these goals by using a three-pronged approach with:

  • Clinical Service
  • Program Development
  • Research and Education

Clinical Service

  • Participation in patient treatment planning
  • Development and maintenance of the department’s quality assurance program
  • Support special treatment delivery protocols

The division has been active in the clinical implementation of:

  • 3D conformal
  • Intensity-modulated radiation therapy
  • Intensity-modulated arc therapy
  • Image-guided radiation therapy
  • Low-dose and high-dose brachytherapy
  • Stereotactic radiosurgery
  • Stereotactic body radiation therapy
  • State-of-the-art imaging techniques and planning systems for generating high quality radiation treatment plans

Program Development and Research

  • Clinical service arm
    • Managing inter-fraction motion
    • Mitigating intra-fraction motion
  • Research programs
    • Multi-modality functional information into treatment planning
    • Developing techniques to assess treatment response
    • Motion management
    • Advanced treatment delivering technique

The division’s research programs are primarily supported by extramural funding and vendor-sponsored research agreements.


  • Actively participate in the Radiation Oncology Residency Program
  • Lead the Medical Dosimetry Program
  • Postdoctoral fellow research program
  • Several faculty hold affiliate appointments in the Fischell Department of Bioengineering at the University of Maryland, College Park
    • Primary advisor roles for PhD candidates
  • Lead the Medical Physics Residency Program
            Director: Mariana Guerrero, PhD
            Associate Director: Stewart J. Becker, PhD, DABR

Medical Physics Faculty

Research Staff, Postdoctoral Fellows & Graduate Students

Visiting Scholars