Skip to main content

Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee

DEI Committee

The Department of Radiation Oncology Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) Committee is comprised of clinical and research faculty, residents and staff. The first official meeting of the committee was held virtually on September 11, 2020.

Mission Statement

We want to cultivate an environment of inclusion and diversity where members feel valued, respected, heard and empowered through education and patient care.

Our Goals

The Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee hopes to accomplish the following:

  • Offer asynchronous, EDI-relevant training opportunities to all department members.
  • Offer book and movie/documentary discussion opportunities.
  • Offer opportunities for department members to express their EDI feedback anonymously.
  • Invite subject-matter experts to speak.
  • Network with EDI committees in the hospital system.
  • Engage in a periodic EDI assessment to evaluate progress in achieving our goals.  

EDI in the Department of Radiation Oncology

Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion

Committee Members

Melissa Vyfhuis

Melissa Ana Liriano Vyfhuis, MD, PhD (she/her)
EDI Committee Chair
Associate Professor and Physician
Medical Director of Radiation Oncology at UM-CRMC

Chaitanya Kalavagunta

Chaitanya Kalavagunta, PhD (he/him)
EDI Committee Vice Chair
Assistant Professor and Medical Physicist


Dominic Bulkley

Dominic Bulkley (he/him)
EDI Committee Treasurer
Senior Project Specialist


Sara Dudley

Sara A. Dudley, MD
Assistant Professor and Physician

Rivka Leichter

Rivka Leichter, CRNP, FNPC
Nurse Practitioner 


Acara Carter

Acara Carter
Clinical Research Coordinator


David Alicia

David Alicia

Renee Kwok

Renee Kwok
Senior Clinical Nurse I


Michael MacFarlane

Michael J. MacFarlane, PhD
Assistant Professor and Medical Physicist


Nicole Helie 250 pix

Nicole Helie
Lead Clinical Research Specialist


Bansi Savla

Bansi Savla (she/her)
EDI Committee Resident Liaison 
Resident Physician


Kennecia Shaw

Kennecia Shaw
Operations Manager


Jessica White

Jessica White (she/her)
Sr. Program Coordinator


Cameron Chason

Cameron Chason
EDI Committee Secretary

Human Resources Manager

Kim Marter

Kim Marter
Sr. Dosimetrist

Tiffany McKinney

Tiffany McKinney
Research Manager

Jessica Gattis

Jessica Gattis
Practice Coordinator