Skip to main content

School Mental Health Program, Baltimore City

University of Maryland School Mental Health Program, Baltimore City

Program Partners

  • Behavioral Health Systems Baltimore
  • Baltimore City Public Schools

Program Leadership

Nancy Lever, PhD
Executive Director

Jennifer Cox, LCSW-C
Program Director

Kelly Willis, LCSW-C
Associate Director

Brittany Parham, PhD
Faculty Advisor

Sharon Hoover, PhD
Senior Advisor

Ellie Davis, LCSW-C
Managing Director

The SMHP Team

The SMHP team serves 25 schools in Baltimore City and is dedicated to the following goals:  

  • Removing barriers to learning
  • Creating a safe and nurturing learning environment
  • Providing a range of culturally sensitive and effective prevention and therapeutic services to students and families
  • Promoting wellness and academic success

The SMHP aims to positively impact schools by building its capacity to support social emotional wellness. Main methods include strengthening the school climate and teachers/administrators’ abilities to serve students with mental health concerns, as well as offering effective prevention, intervention, and treatment services to students and families.

Our interdisciplinary team is comprised of:

  • Psychologists
  • Social workers
  • Professional counselors
  • Psychiatrists
  • Trainees guided by youth, families, and school staff

The SMHP is committed to integrating evidence-based practices into a multi-tiered system of support and with a strong focus on school-family-community partnerships.

Additionally, the SMHP has a growing telepsychiatry program that is supported by the University of Maryland School of Medicine, Department of Psychiatry, and the National Center for School Mental Health.