Skip to main content

Investiture Ceremony Awards Sharon Henry, MD, FACS, the Inagural Anne Scalea Professorship in Trauma

June 7, 2011

Sharon Henry, MD

Sharon Henry, MD

On June 6, 2011, an investiture ceremony was held to award Sharon M. Henry, MD, FACS, with the Anne Scalea Professorship in Trauma. The professorship was established in honor of Anne Scalea, mother of Thomas M. Scalea, MD, the Francis X. Kelly Professor of Trauma Surgery and Director of the Program in Trauma, as a living legacy to honor her guidance and inspiration.

Anne Scalea was as a passionate educator, who had a deep sense of community, and inspired all those who knew her. As a single parent, Mrs. Scalea instilled in her five children a passion for learning. “She taught us to believe in ourselves,” said Dr. Scalea. “She taught us the value of education. She taught us the value of service to others, and the importance of loyalty and family values. She taught us humanity and she taught us humility.”

“I am truly honored, overwhelmed and humbled by this ceremony,” said Dr. Henry, who thanked her family for their support, and expressed here gratitude to all of the donors who made this professorship possible. “Your generosity insures that the highest standards for education, research and patient care will be available at this institution.”

Dr. Henry is the founder of the Division of Wound Healing and Metabolism and the Soft Tissue Infection Service at the Shock Trauma Center. She is a recognized international expert on soft tissue injuries who is often called upon by the U.S. military as a consultant. As State Chair of the Maryland American College of Surgeons (ACS) Committee on Trauma, Dr. Henry revamped the Advanced Trauma Life Support (ATLS) course in Maryland, which is now considered a model for ATLS courses across the U.S. She also embraced new ACS courses, including Advanced Trauma Operative Management (ATOM) and Advanced Surgical Skills for Exposure in Trauma, with the result that the University of Maryland is now the only institution in the country to offer all three courses. Dr. Henry received the ACS Meritorious Service Award in 2009 for her work with ATLS and currently serves as national director for ATOM.

This investiture ceremony continued the School of Medicine’s tradition of honoring faculty members who receive endowed professorships with a special medal to uniquely recognize their accomplishment. The front of the medal features the image of a founder and first dean, Dr. John Beale Davidge and the historic Davidge Hall. The back of the medal lists the four tenets of the School of Medicine's mission: education, research, patient care and service, as well as the official name of the endowed professorship.

“Endowed professorships provide an outstanding opportunity for us to retain and recruit the very best faculty members,” said E. Albert Reece, M.D., M.B.A., vice president for medical affairs of the University of Maryland and the John Z. and Akiko K. Bowers Distinguished Professor and dean. “The School of Medicine is fortunate to have a faculty member as talented and dedicated as Sharon Henry.”

For more information on establishing an endowed professorship in someone's honor please contact the Office of Development at (410) 706-8503.