Skip to main content

Student Clinician Ceremony

2024 Ceremony

On Tuesday, February 27, 2024, our Class of 2026 students and faculty members gathered for the this important ceremony to help prepare these rising third year students for their clinical rotations. The event included remarks from UMSOM Dean Mark T. Gladwin, MD and Associate Dean for Student Affairs Kerri Thom, MD, MS, along with faculty and student leaders of our UMSOM Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) and our selected faculty speaker and student speaker, nominated by GHHS students. 

We are grateful to our presenting sponsors for this event, Whiting-Turner and the Medical Alumni Association of the University of Maryland. A recording and additional details about the ceremony are below.

About the Ceremony

The Student Clinician Ceremony is held before the beginning of the third year of medical school to help prepare students for their clinical rotations. In their rotations, students begin seeing patients alongside doctors and residents as they gain experience in primary care and medical specialties. 

The ceremony, which is planned in coordination with the UMSOM Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society, aims to address some of the anxiety felt by students entering this transitional period by providing insight and discussing fears and expectations. Students receive professionalism pins during the event to wear on their white coats as a constant reminder of their duty to their patients and profession. They also agree to follow the Student Clinician Oath.

In addition to the ceremony, before starting rotations, students attend clinical skills workshops and small group discussions about patient safety and professionalism issues. For more information about the Student Clinician Ceremony, contact the Office of Student Affairs.

Watch the 2024 Ceremony Video

Student Clinician Ceremony Faculty Speakers

Year Graduation Year Faculty Speaker
2024 2026 Melissa Motta, MD, MPH
2023 2025 Rodney J. Taylor, MD, MSPH
2022 2024 Sandrine Niyongere, MD
2021 2023 Donique A. Cross, MD
2020 2022 H. Neal Reynolds, MD
2019 2021 Stella Hines, MD
2018 2020 Rana Malek, MD
2017 2019 David R. Gens, MD, FACS
2016 2018 Sandra M. Quezada, MD, MS
2015 2017 Kerri A. Thom, MD
2014 2016 Devang Patel, MD
2013 2015 Donna S. Hanes, MD, FACP
2012 2014 Daniel J. Salzberg, MD, FACP
2011 2013 Nevins W. Todd, MD
2010 2012 Michael S. Donnenberg, MD
2009 2011 Robert Shin, MD
2008 2010 Gary Plotnick, MD
2007 2009 Robert Shin, MD, MPH
2006 2008 n/a
2005 2007 Yvette L. Rooks, MD
2004 2006 Roberto M. Benitez, MD
2003 2005 William L. Henrich, MD