Skip to main content

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee

DEI Committee

The Department of Radiation Oncology Diversity, Equity and Inclusion committee is comprised of clinical and research faculty, residents and staff. The first official meeting of the committee was held virtually on September 11, 2020.

Mission Statement

We want to cultivate an environment of inclusion and diversity where members feel valued, respected, heard and empowered through education and patient care.

Our Goals

The Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee hopes to accomplish the following:

  • Offer asynchronous, DEI-relevant training opportunities to all department members.
  • Offer book and movie/documentary discussion opportunities.
  • Offer opportunities for department members to express their DEI feedback anonymously.
  • Invite subject-matter experts to speak.
  • Network with DEI committees in the hospital system.
  • Engage in a periodic DEI assessment to evaluate progress in achieving our goals.  

DEI in the Department of Radiation Oncology

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

Committee Members

Melissa Vyfhuis

Melissa Ana Liriano Vyfhuis, MD, PhD (she/her)
DEI Committee Chair
Assistant Professor and Physician

Chaitanya Kalavagunta

Chaitanya Kalavagunta, PhD (he/him)
DEI Committee Vice Chair
Assistant Professor and Medical Physicist


Dominic Bulkley

Dominic Bulkley (he/him)
DEI Committee Treasurer
Senior Project Specialist


Sara Dudley

Sara A. Dudley, MD
Assistant Professor and Physician

Rivka Leichter

Rivka Leichter, CRNP, FNPC
Nurse Practitioner 


Acara Carter

Acara Carter
Clinical Research Coordinator


David Alicia

David Alicia

Renee Kwok

Renee Kwok
Senior Clinical Nurse I


Michael MacFarlane

Michael J. MacFarlane, PhD
Assistant Professor and Medical Physicist


Nicole Helie 250 pix

Nicole Helie
Lead Clinical Research Specialist


Bansi Savla

Bansi Savla (she/her)
DEI Committee Resident Liasion 
Resident Physician


Kennecia Shaw

Kennecia Shaw
Operations Manager


Jessica White

Jessica White (she/her)
Sr. Program Coordinator


Cameron Chason

Cameron Chason
DEI Committee Secretary

Human Resources Manager

Kim Marter

Kim Marter
Sr. Dosimetrist