Skip to main content

Think Tanks

To generate collaborative research projects that eventually lead to larger, program project grant proposals, the Program in Health Equity and Population Health (HEPH) established five “Think Tanks” in February 2021 in the following areas of disparities research.

UMB investigators interested in joining one or more of the Think Tanks of the Program in Health Equity and Population Health should contact the respective Think Tank Leaders.

Please select a disparity research to learn more:

Cancer

Cancer Disparities Research

Laundette Jones

Laundette Jones, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor, Department of Epidemiology and Public Health
Deputy Director, Program in Health Equity and Population Health
Phone: 410-706-7331
Email: LPJones@som.umaryland.edu

Mohindra_Pranshu

Pranshu Mohindra, MD, MBBS
Associate Professor, Radiation Oncology
Phone: 410-706-6080
Email: pmohindra@som.umaryland.edu

Eun-Shim Nahm, PhD, RN, FAAN

Eun-Shim Nahm, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor, Organizational Systems and Adult Health
Co-Director, Center of Excellence in Biology and Behavior Across the Life Span
School of Nursing
Phone: 410-706-4913
Email: enahm@umaryland.edu

CVD, Obesity and Diabetes

CVD, Obesity, and Diabetes Disparities Research

Erin Hager

Erin Hager, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics
Director, Program in Health Equity and Population Health
Department of Epidemiology and Public Health
Phone: 410-706-0213
Email: ehager@peds.umaryland.edu

Infectious Diseases

Infectious Diseases Disparities Research

Marik Moen, PhD, MPH, MSN, RN

Marik Moen, PhD, MPH, MSN, RN
Assistant Professor, Family and Community Health
School of Nursing
Phone: 410-706- 5976
Email: mmoen@umaryland.edu

Milagritos Tapia

Milagritos Tapia, MD
Professor, Department of Pediatrics
Phone: 410-706-5328
Email: mtapia@som.umaryland.edu

Maternal and Child Health

Maternal and Child Health Disparities Research

Deborah Badawi

Debbie Badawi, MD
Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics
Phone: 410-767-5592
Email: Deborah.badawi@maryland.gov

Maureen Black, PhD

Maureen Black, PhD
Professor Emeritus, Department of Pediatrics

Francesca Okolie

Francesca Okolie, DO, MPH
Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
Phone: 410-328-6003
Email: fokolie@som.umaryland.edu

Mental Health and Addiction

Mental Health and Addiction Disparities Research

Jodi Jacobson Frey

Jodi Frey, PhD, LCSW-C, CEAP
Professor, School of Social Work
Phone: 410-706-3607
Email: jfrey@ssw.umaryland.edu

Bennett_Melanie

Melanie Bennett, PhD
Professor, Department of Psychiatry
Phone: 410-706-0892
Email: mbennett@som.umaryland.edu