Skip to main content

Student Government

The student government at UMSoM consists of a Student Council and representation for each class through class governments. The Student Council serves for one academic year and the positions are held by students in the second-year class who are selected through an election process. The Student Council limitedly oversees student groups and plan social events intended for the entire student body. Each class is represented by a Class Government that includes five major roles: President, Vice President, Treasurer, Secretary, and Historian. In addition to the five positions, each class should have two Curriculum Committee members, two University Student Government Association representatives, and two Judicial Board members. The Student Government represents each class to the school and the administration. Depending on the role, responsibilities may include organizing class fundraisers, planning events, attending student leadership meetings, and holding seats on various medical school committees.