Skip to main content

Student Clinician Ceremony

2023 Ceremony

Friday, April 21, 2023
2:00 pm – 4:30 pm
The Lyric Baltimore
140 W. Mt Royal Ave, Baltimore, MD 21201
Doors open at 1:00 pm

The Student Clinician Ceremony helps prepare rising 3rd year students for their clinical rotations. It is normally a small event held at the school with students and select faculty. However, since the Class of 2025 White Coat Ceremony had to be modified due to the pandemic and guests attended virtually, we are planning a larger event for their class with a formal pin presentation. The ceremony will end at approximately 3:30 pm and will be followed by a dessert reception in the lobby. We are excited to welcome and celebrate with families and friends!

Tickets are required for this event. Students have received details about registration, ticket pick-up, and requesting special accommodations.

For directions and parking information, please visit

About the Ceremony

The Student Clinician Ceremony is held in the spring, before the beginning of the third year of medical school, to help prepare students for their clinical rotations. In their rotations, students begin seeing patients alongside doctors and residents as they gain experience in primary care and medical specialties.

The Student Clinician Ceremony aims to address some of the anxiety felt by students entering this transitional period by providing insight, and discussing fears and expectations. During the Student Clinician Ceremony, students receive professionalism pins to wear on their white coats as a constant reminder of their duty to their patients and their profession and agree to follow the Student Clinician Oath.

The ceremony is preceded by clinical skills workshops and small group discussions about patient safety and professionalism issues. For more information about the Student Clinician Ceremony, contact the Office of Student Affairs.

Photo Gallery

Student Clinician Ceremony Faculty Speakers

YearGraduation YearFaculty Speaker
2022 2024 Sandrine Niyongere, MD
2021 2023 Donique A. Cross, MD
2020 2022 H. Neal Reynolds, MD
2019 2021 Stella Hines, MD
2018 2020 Rana Malek, MD
2017 2019 David R. Gens, MD, FACS
2016 2018 Sandra M. Quezada, MD, MS
2015 2017 Kerri A. Thom, MD
2014 2016 Devang Patel, MD
2013 2015 Donna S. Hanes, MD, FACP
2012 2014 Daniel J. Salzberg, MD, FACP
2011 2013 Nevins W. Todd, MD
2010 2012 Michael S. Donnenberg, MD
2009 2011 Robert Shin, MD
2008 2010 Gary Plotnick, MD
2007 2009 Robert Shin, MD, MPH
2006 2008 n/a
2005 2007 Yvette L. Rooks, MD
2004 2006 Roberto M. Benitez, MD
2003 2005 William L. Henrich, MD