Skip to main content

APT Committee

Appointment, Promotion and Tenure of Faculty (APT) Committee

The Medicine Appointment, Promotion and Tenure (APT) Committee is a vital part of the Department of Medicine’s goal of fostering professional growth among our faculty. This committee performs detailed reviews of nominee credentials, providing essential advice to the Chair regarding each candidate’s suitability for promotion and/or tenure.

Committee members are selected specifically to provide a diverse group of clinician educators and scientific investigators reflective of the variety of individuals and disciplines within the Department of Medicine.


Melissa McDiarmid, MD, MPH
Occupational and Environmental Medicine

Committee Members

Eileen Barry, PhD
Geographic Medicine/Center for Vaccine Development and Global Health

Michael Benitez, MD
Cardiovascular Medicine

Claire Fraser, PhD
Endocrinology, Diabetes and Nutrition/Institute of Genomic Science

Bruce Greenwald, MD
Gastroenterology and Hepatology

Jeffrey Hasday, MD
Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine

Marc Hochberg, MD, MPH
Rheumatology and Clinical Immunology

Arif Hussain, MD
Hematology Oncology/Program in Oncology

Michael Miller, MD
Cardiovascular Medicine

Braxton Mitchell, PhD
Endocrinology, Diabetes and Nutrition

Jean-Pierre Raufman, MD
Gastroenterology and Hepatology

Alice Ryan, PhD
Geriatric and Palliative Medicine

Katherine Tkaczuk, MD
Hematology Oncology/Program in Oncology

Terry Watnick, MD

For questions regarding the Department of Medicine APT Committee, please contact Robyn Crandell

University of Maryland School of Medicine (UMSOM) APT Committee

Please visit the UMSOM Office of Academic Affairs section of our website to access the school's APT Committee, Advisory Committee, and for a complete list of APT Partners by department.

UMSOM APT Committee