Skip to main content

Faculty

Training Faculty

Antalis, Toni, PhD., Professor
Department of Physiology
Membrane serine proteases, tumor biology, vascular permeability and angiogenesis, intestional barrier permeability, serine protease inhibitors (serpins)
TAntalis@som.umaryland.edu

Aurelian, Laure, PhD., Professor
Department of Physiology
Ras activation, TAK1, neurodegeneration, carcinogenesis, epigenetics
laurelia@umnet.umaryland.edu

Blaustein, Mordecai, PhD., Professor
Department of Physiology
Calcium, smooth muscle, neuron, Sarco-/Endoplasmic Reticulum, Ankyrin
MBlaustein@som.umaryland.edu

Bloch, Robert, PhD., Professor
Department of Physiology
Muscular dystrophy, cytoskeleton, membrane domains, compartmentation of intracellular membranes, costameres
rbloch@umnet.umaryland.edu

Bond, Meredith, PhD., Professor & Chair
Department of Physiology
?-arenergic signnaling, Protein kinase A, A-kinase anchoring proteins (AKAPs), cardiac myocytes, calcium
MBond@som.umaryland.edu

Carbonetti, Nicholas, PhD., Associate Professor
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Pertussis toxin, G protein signaling, cytokines and chemokines, inflammatory responses, immune cells
ncarbone@umnet.umaryland.edu

Drohat, Alexander, PhD., Assistant Professor
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
DNA repair & cancer, enzyme mechanisms, NMR & Structural Biology, protein structure & fuction, DNA Methylation & gene regulation
adroh001@umaryland.edu

Eckert, Richard L., PhD., Professor & Chair
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Tumor suppressor, skin cell differentiation, stem cells, MAPK signaling, gene regulation
reckert@umaryland.edu

Fabris, Dan, PhD., Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, UMBC
Structure/function of viral RNA and Rebonucleoproteins, Catalysis of RNA structure remoldeling by HIV-1 nucleocapsid (NC) protein, Translational control of gene expression:readthrough and frameshifting mechanisms, Recongnition between reverse transcriptse (RT) and cognate polypurine tract (PPT) substrates, Mechanism of drug inhibition, screening of ligand combinatorial libraries.
fabris@umbc.edu

Fraser-Liggett, Claire, PhD., Professor
Department of Medicine; Director, Institute for Genome Sciences
cmfraser@som.umaryland.edu

Fulton, Amy, PhD., Professor
Department of Pathology
afulton@som.umaryland.edu

Goldblum, Simeon, Professor
Department of Medicine
Thrombospondin 1, Endotoxin/Toll-like receptor signaling, Zonula adherens, VE-cardherin, Phosphatase-mu
sgoldblu@medicine.umaryland.edu

Herzberg, Osnat, PhD., Professor
CARB
Structural biology, structural genomics, phosphotransfer reactions, human hyaloronidases, Giardia drug targets
herzberg@umbi.umd.edu

Kao, Joseph, PhD., Professor
Department of Physiology
Calcium signaling, cellular neurophysiology, caged molecules, molecular probes, In vivo electron paramagnetic resonance (EPR) imaging.
jkao@umaryland.edu

Kelman, Zvi, PhD., Associate Professor
CARB
Archaea, Cdc6, DNA binding, DNA replication, helicases, Initiation of DNA replication, MCM
kelman@umbi.umd.edu

Kontrogianni-Konstantopoulos, Aikaterini , Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Structure/function of cytoskeletal proteins in striated muscle cells, cell signaling and muscle formation, myopathies and muscular dystrophies, apoptosis and heart failure.
akons001@umaryland.edu

Lederer, Jon, Professor
Department of Physiology
Calcium, heart, spark, excitation - contraction coupling, arrhythmia
lederer@umbi.umd.edu

Liggett, Stephen, MD, Professor
Department of Medicine
G-protein coupled receptor structure/function, receptor genetic variation in heart and lung disease, genetically altered mice for studying signaling and human disease
sligg001@umaryland.edu

Lindberg, Iris, PhD., Professor
Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology
ilind001@umaryland.edu

Lu-Chang, A-Lein, PhD., Professor
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
DNA repair, DNA damage response, cell cycle checkpoints, protein deacetylation, protein function/structure
aluchang@umaryland.edu

Lu, Wuyuan, PhD., Associate Professor
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Defensin, antiviral and antitumor peptide, chemical protein synthesis, mirror image phage display, protein structure and function.
wlu@hv.umaryland.edu

Martin, Stuart, PhD., Assistant Professor
Department of Physiology
SSMartin@som.umaryland.edu

Mariuzza, Roy, PhD., Professor
CARB
Immunology, receptors, X-ray crystallography, autoimmunity, innate immunity
mariuzza@carb.nist.gov

Monteiro, Mervyn, PhD., Professor
Department of Neurology
Neirodegeneration, apoptosis, ER stress, oxidative stress, proteasome degradation
monteiro@umbi.umd.edu

Neuwald, Andrew, PhD., Professor
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Protein kinases, G protein coupled receptor signaling, Ras-like GTPases
aneuwald@som.umaryland.edu

Orban, John, PhD., Professor
CARB
john@carb.nist.gov

Raufman, Jean-Pierre, MD., Professor
Department of Medicine
Colon cancer, muscarinic receptors, acetylcholine, bile acids, signal transduction, NF-kappaB
jraufman@medicine.umaryland.edu

Schneider, Martin, PhD., Professor
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Skeletal muscle excitation-contraction coupling, Calcium signaling, Activity dependent muscle plasticity, Live cell imaging of transcriptional regulator nuclear/cytoplasmic translocation, Phophosphatase and kinase regulation in muscle
mschneid@umaryland.edu

Shapiro, Paul, PhD., Associate Professor
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, UMB School of Pharmacy
Map kinases, Signal Transduction, Drug Development, Cancer
pshapiro@rx.umaryland.edu

Strickland, Dudley, PhD., Professor
Department of Surgery
DStrickland@som.umaryland.edu

Summers, Michael, PhD., Professor
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, UMBC
NMR, protein, RNA, structure, dynamics
summers@hhmi.umbc.edu

Tomkinson, Alan, PhD., Professor
Department of Radiation Oncology
DNA damage signaling and repair, DNA ligase structure and function, Structure-based identification of inhibitors of the DNA damage response
ATomkinson@som.umaryland.edu

Vogel, Stephanie, PhD., Professor
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
SVogel@som.umaryland.edu

Wang, Lai-Xi., PhD., Associate Professor

Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Protein glycosylation, HIV vaccine, carbohydrate antigens, lectins, protein-carbohydrate interaction
lwang3@ihv.umarylan.edu

Weber, David, PhD., Professor
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
P53, cancer biology, NMR, S100 proteins, calcium-signaling
dweber@umaryland.edu

Welling, Paul, MD., Professor
Department of Physiology
Membrane Trafficking, serine - threonine kinases, Channelopathies, Cell Polarity
pwelling@umaryland.edu

Williams, Mark, PhD., Assistant Professor
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Hematopoietic cells, Reactive oxygen species, Protein tyrosine phosphatases, NADPH oxidases, Host defense
MarWilliams@som.umaryland.edu

Wilson, Gerald, PhD., Assistant Professor
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
RNA-binding proteins, RNA turnover, RNA structure, tumor progression, fluorescence spectroscopy
gwils001@umaryland.edu

Yang, Austin, PhD., Associate Professor

Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology
AYang@som.umaryland.edu
 

Resource Faculty


Ambulos, Nicholas, PhD., Associate Professor
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
DNA sequencing, Gene Expression, Peptides, Genotyping, Protein characterization
nambulos@umaryland.edu

Bryan, Philip, Professor
CARB
bryan@umbi.umd.edu

Fasano, Alessio, PhD., Professor
Department of Pediatrics
mucosal biology, tight junctions, proteases, phosphorylation, protein-protein interactions
afasano@medicine.umaryland.edu

Fiskum, Gary, PhD., Professor
Department of Anesthesiology
Mitochondria, bioenergetics, oxidative stress, neurochemistry, calcium homeostasis
gfiskum@anes.umm.edu

Gnatt, Averelle, PhD., Professor
Department of Pharmacology
Transcription, RNA Polymerase II, Gdown1, Cancer, Drug development
agnat001@umaryland.edu

Kalvakolanu, Dhan, PhD., Professor
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Cell signaling, growth control, transcription, apoptosis, tumor suppression
dkalvako@umaryland.edu

Lakowicz, Joseph, PhD., Professor
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Fluorescence, nanotechnology, diagnostics, single molecule detection, biomolecule dynamics
jlako001@umaryland.edu

Rogers, Terry, PhD., Professor
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Ca signaling, cardiac myocytes, stem cells, Ca channels, protein phosphorylation

trogers@umaryland.edu

Thompson, Richard, PhD., Associate Professor
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Fluorescence biosensors, zinc, copper, fiber optic sensors
rthompso@umaryland.edu

Toth, Eric, PhD., Assistant Professor
Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
DNA repair, cell cycle checkpoint, structural biology, x-ray crystallography, RNA processing
etoth001@umaryland.edu