Skip to main content

Dean Reece’s School of Medicine New Faculty Orientation 2018


New Faculty Orientation was held on November 1, 2018 at the School of Medicine Leadership Hall.


7:30 – 8:00 AM

Registration (Continental Breakfast - Atrium)

8:10 – 8:20 AM

Welcome and Overview - Leadership Hall
Nancy R. Lowitt, MD, EdM
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Associate Dean, Office of Faculty Affairs and Professional Development
Chief Conflict of Interest Officer

8:20 - 8:50 AM

Overview of Education and Research at the School of Medicine
James B. Kaper, PhD
Professor and Chair
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affair

8:50 – 9:20 AM

Overview of the Clinical Enterprise
William Tucker, MBA, CPA
Associate Dean for Practice Plan Affairs
Chief Corporate Officer, University of Maryland Faculty Physicians, Inc.

9:20 – 9:50 AM

Promotion and Tenure
Amy M. Fulton, PhD
Professor of Pathology
Chair, Appointment, Promotion and Tenure Review Committee

9:50 – 10:00 AM


10:00 – 11:00 AM

Welcome by the Dean
E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA
Executive Vice President for Medical Affairs, UM Baltimore
John Z. and Akiko K. Bowers Distinguished Professor and
Dean, University of Maryland School of Medicine

11:00-11:20 AM

Advice from Two Chairs: Balancing Teaching, Service and Research Productivity
James Kaper, PhD
Professor and Chair
Department of Microbiology and Immunology

Rodney Taylor, MD
Associate Professor
Interim Chairman, Department of Otorhinolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery

11:20 – 11:30 AM

External Professional Activities: Consulting, Conflict of Interest and eDisclose
Nancy R. Lowitt, MD

11:30 – 11:40 AM

Introduction of Research Career Development Program and Resources
Wendy Sanders, MA
Instructor, Epidemiology and Public Health
Associate Dean, Office of Research and Career Development

Stacie Mendoza, BS
Program Director

11:40 – 11:45 AM

Center for Innovative Biomedical Resources (CIBR): Core Resources Enabling Discovery
Nicholas P. Ambulos, Jr., PhD
Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, Director, Center for Innovative Biomedical Resources; Associate Director for Shared Services, Marlene and Stewart Greenebaum Cancer Center, Director, Genomics Core Facility

12:00 PM – 1:00 PM


12:00 PM – 2:00 PM

Focused Consultations with Academic Resources (Atrium)

1:00 PM – 3:00 PM

*Break-Out Session: – Everyday Bias for Healthcare Professionals
(2 Hours)
(LOCATION: SMC Campus Center, Room 351)
Kristin Powell Reavis, MD
Assistant Professor, Family and Community
Medicine, Associate Residency Director

*Accreditation: The University of Maryland School of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

Credit Designation: The University of Maryland School of Medicine designates this live activity for a maximum of 2.0 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Academic Resources:

Alison Watkins, JD, MS
AVP for Enterprise Risk and Policy Oversight
UMB Conflict of Interest Officer
University of Maryland, Baltimore
620 W. Lexington St. Fifth Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
Phone: 410 706-1266

Nancy Ryan Lowitt MD, EdM, FACP
Associate Dean
Chief Conflict of Interest Officer

Robertha Simpson, MBA
Director, Administration, COI & CME
Office of Faculty Affairs and
Professional Development
University of Maryland School of Medicine
655 W. Baltimore St. #14-017
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410 706-8734

Philip Robilotto, DO, MBA
Chief Commercialization Officer
UMVentures Baltimore (UMB OTT)
AVP, Office of Technology Transfer
620 W. Lexington Street, 4th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410-706-2378

Michael Rollor, PhD, MBA
Assistant Vice President
Office of Research Development
Phone: 410-706-1875

Amshu Siddalingaswamy, MBA
Center for Clinical Trials & Corporate Contracts
620 W. Lexington Street
Administration Building
Room 4112
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410-706-1932

David J. Ingle, MBA
Assistant Dean for Academic Administration

Debra Hudson
Academic Administration

Monique Ogarro
Administrative Analyst
Dean's Office
University of Maryland School of Medicine
655 W. Baltimore Street, Room 14-013B
Baltimore, MD 21201-1559
Phone 410-706-2656

Sandra Quezada, MD, MS
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Interim Associate Dean for Admissions
Assistant Dean for Academic and Multicultural Affairs

Marian Jones
Interview Coordinator
20 S. Penn Street, S-147
Baltimore, MD 21201

David Mallott, MD
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
Associate Dean
Office of Medical Education
HSF I, 134
Baltimore, MD 21201
Telephone: 410-706-6613

Wendy Sanders, MA
Associate Dean for Research Career Development

Stacie Mendoza, BS
Program Director
Office of Research and Career Development
685 W. Baltmore Street
MSTF 3-19
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410-706-5434

Thomas McHugh, MS
Program Administrator, Center for Innovation Biomedical Resources (CIBR)

Sanjay Uchil
Manager, Applications Development
MSTF Rm.166

Sharron Graves, MS
Program Administrator
Graduate Program in Life Sciences (GPILS)
University of Maryland School of Medicine
BioPark I, Room 316

Jane Anderson
Director Donor Relations & Stewardship
Office of Development
31 S. Greene Street, 3rd Floor
Baltimore, MD 21201

Christopher Hardwick, MA
Assistant Dean for Public Affairs and Communications
655 W. Baltimore Street, #14-002A
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410-706-5260

Terry Rogers, PhD
Professor Department of Biochemistry
& Molecular Biology
Associate Dean
Office of Research Affairs

Maggie Smith, MS
Research Administrator
Office of Research Affairs
655 W. Baltimore Street
Room 14-016B
Baltimore, MD 21201

Donald Matteson, PhD
Associate Professor of Physiology
Director of Student Research Education and Dual Degree Program
Office of Student Research and Education
655 West Baltimore Street
Bressler Research Building, M-019B
Baltimore, MD, 21201
T:  410-706-1809

Andrea Goldstein Shipper, MSLIS
Research, Education and Outreach Librarian
School of Medicine Librarian
Health Sciences and Human Services Library
601 W. Lombard Street
Phone: 410-706-8868

Meghan Banchero, MBA, MS
Adminitrative Director
General Clinical Research Ctr (GCRC)
22 S. Green Street, RM S10D13a
Baltimore, MD 21201
Phone: 410-328-7365

Brian Godette
714 W. Lombard Street
Environmental Health and Safety Building
Phone: 410-706-8534

Jennifer Aumiller, M.Ed.
Director, Office of Postdoctoral Scholars and
GPILS/OPS Career and Professional Development