Skip to main content


The program integrates many of UM Medicine’s leading departments and programs, including the Department of Medicine’s Division of Pulmonary & Critical Care, the Department of Surgery, and the Program in Trauma’s Critical Care Division.

Program to be Led by Leading Transplantation Surgeon

The program is led by Executive Director Bartley P. Griffith, MD, the Thomas E. and Alice Marie Hales Distinguished Professor in Transplant Surgery at the UM SOM. Dr. Griffith is regarded as one of the leading surgeons in the nation for heart and lung transplantation, aortic diseases and pulmonary thromboendarectomy.

The Program’s leadership structure also includes Aldo T. Iacono, MD, the Hamish S. and Christine C. Osborne Professor in Advanced Pulmonary Care at the UM SOM, who will serve as Director of Outreach and Consultative Services. Dr. Iacono is nationally recognized as an outstanding transplant pulmonologist and a translational investigator focusing on novel anti-rejection therapy.

Hamish S. Osborne and Christine C. Osborne are among the founding supporters of the Program.