Skip to main content

2019 Nurses Week Awards

Nurses Week events were held May 6-12, 2019 in conjunction with the Clinical Practice Summit and Patient Safety Summit. The Clinical Practice Summit and Patient Safety Summit entitled “Cultivating a Spirit of Inquiry and Inter-Professional Teamwork” was held from Monday, May 6 through Friday, May 10 in the Weinberg Atrium. The Department of Anesthesiology was represented by eight posters by both clinical and research project groups. 

The annual 2019 Nurses Week awards were given out Thursday, May 9 in the School of Nursing Auditorium. The Department of Anesthesiology‘s Marisa Conry, MS, CRNA was given the Excellence in Advanced Practice Nursing award. In all categories there were twelve other nominations for awards to Department of Anesthesiology CRNAs or associated support positions. In addition, Douglas Martz, MD was given the Physician Colleague award for 2019.  Three other Department of Anesthesiology faculty members, Megan Anders, MDMary Hyder, MD and Bhavani Kodali, MBBS, MD were extended the honor of a nomination. Please see the full list of nominees below for details.


Excellence in Advanced Practice Nursing

  • Mike Broussard, MS, CRNA
  • Marisa Conry, MS, CRNA*
  • Shannon Hagan, MS, CRNA

Art of Caring

  • Barbara Wagner, MS, CRNA

Excellence in Innovation through Research

  • Bill Howie, DNP, CRNA

Excellence in Safety

  • Ron Ejanda, MS, CRNA

Contagious Positive Attitude

  • Yaniv Ergas, MSN, CRNA
  • Jahnavi Jaladanki, DNP, CRNA

Excellence in Leadership (Manager or Clinical RN)

  • Michelle Duell, DNP, CRNA

Excellence in Precepting, Mentoring, and Education

  • Ericka Dick, MSN
  • Patrick Taylor, MS, CRNA

Personifies Professionalism

  • Marisa Conry, MS, CRNA


  • Kristy Ward, MS

Physician Colleague:

  • Meagan Anders, MD
  • Douglas Martz, MD*
  • Mary Hyder, MD
  • Bhavani Kodali, MBBS, MD