Skip to main content


Nurses Week events were held May 6-12, 2019 in conjunction with the Clinical Practice Summit and Patient Safety Summit. The Clinical Practice Summit and Patient Safety Summit entitled “Cultivating a Spirit of Inquiry and Inter-Professional Teamwork” was held from Monday, May 6 through Friday, May 10 in the Weinberg Atrium. The Department of Anesthesiology was represented by eight posters by both clinical and research project groups. 

The annual 2019 Nurses Week awards were given out Thursday, May 9 in the School of Nursing Auditorium. The Department of Anesthesiology‘s Marisa Conry, MS, CRNA was given the Excellence in Advanced Practice Nursing award. In all categories there were twelve other nominations for awards to Department of Anesthesiology CRNAs or associated support positions. In addition, Douglas Martz, MD was given the Physician Colleague award for 2019.  Three other Department of Anesthesiology faculty members, Megan Anders, MDMary Hyder, MD and Bhavani Kodali, MBBS, MD were extended the honor of a nomination. Click here to see the full list of nominees and winners.

On Saturday, May 4, 2019 the University of Maryland School of Medicine hosted its annual gala for alumni, donors, faculty, staff, and students at the Baltimore Convention Center. The title of this year’s gala was “Vital Signs, Vital Victories” emphasizing the School of Medicine’s continued tradition of excellence in the areas of medical education, patient care and research.

Each year the School of Medicine Gala coincides with the Medical Alumni Association Reunion Weekend making it the perfect opportunity to showcase the accomplishments of the many dedicated physicians, biomedical researchers and allied health professionals who work together every day. Featured prominently in this year’s video presentation were two pediatric anesthesiologists:  Anne Savarese, MD, FAAP, Division Chief and Stephanie Kahntroff, MD, Division member for their contributions to several of the pediatric patient cases that were highlighted. Click here to view the video.

Several members of the Division of Trauma Anesthesiology contributed to the March 2019 issue of Anesthesiology ClinicsMaureen McCunn, MD, MIPP, FCCM served as the lead editor of the issue, the topic of which was “Cutting-Edge Trauma and Emergency Care.” Samuel Galvagno, Jr., DO, PhD was the lead author of “Advanced Trauma Life Support® Update 2019: Management and Applications for Adults and Special Populations.” Finally, Bianca Conti, MD and Ravi Chauhan, FRCA contributed to “Novel Methods for Hemorrhage Control: Resuscitative Endovascular Balloon Occlusion of the Aorta and Emergency Preservation and Resuscitation.” Click here to access the full issue.

Wei Chao, MD, PhD, FAHA was recently awarded the The Anesthesiology Endowed Professorship In Translational Research. Dr. Chao’s laboratory, a part of the Anesthesiology Translational Research Program, studies the innate immune signaling system and its role in sepsis, trauma, and myocardial ischemic injury. The laboratory has established state-of-the-art experimental systems that are essential for investigators to delineate the molecular, cellular, and organ physiological changes during sepsis, traumatic injuries, and tissue ischemia. In receiving this honor, Dr. Chao join five other endowed professors in the department (Drs. Birukov, Faden, Fiskum, Njoku, and Rock).

For the third year in a row, the Department has maintained its ranking as #11 in NIH funding amongst all US  Anesthesiology Departments. These rankings are compiled annually by the Blue Ridge Institute for Medical Research. Congratulations to the investigators whose hard work, dedication, innovation, and commitment to discovery continue to propel the Department forward as a research powerhouse.

Department News Archive