Skip to main content

Scientific Advisory Council

A cornerstone of the ACCEL-Med Initiative is the meeting of our external Scientific Advisory Council (SAC) at the annual Festival of Science. The SAC members have agreed to serve three-year terms. The SAC provide critical advice on our research portfolio, programs, and plans, as well as guidance and support for faculty presenters. At the Festival in 2013, Council members spent time with the School of Medicine leadership team, the SOM Research Affairs Advisory Committee, and was tasked with evaluating the Festival’s featured research programs.

The SAC Members include:

Rita Colwell, PhD

Distinguished Professor at both the University of Maryland, College Park and at Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health; Senior Advisor and Chairman Emeritus of Canon US Life Sciences, Inc.; President and Chairman of CosmosID, Inc.


Carol Greider, PhD

Daniel Nathans Professor and Director of the Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics at the Institute of Basic Biomedical Sciences in the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine; 2009 Nobel Prize Winner for Medicine


Philip Needleman, PhD

Former President of Searle R&D; member of the Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academy of Sciences; member of the Washington University Board of Trustees, the St. Louis Science Center, the Plant and Life Sciences Coalition, and the Board of Trustees of the Donald Danforth Plant Science Center; Research Advisor to the President at Ben-Gurion University, Israel.

Gilbert Omenn, MD, PhD

Harold T. Shapiro Distinguished University Professor of Internal Medicine, Human Genetics, and Public Health at the University of Michigan. Founder & Director of University of Michigan's Center for Computational Medicine and Bioinformatics. Member of NAS & IOM.


Ralph Snyderman, MD (Council Chair)

Member of the Institute of Medicine; Chancellor Emeritus, Duke University; and the James B. Duke Professor of Medicine at the Duke University School of Medicine.