Bookmark and Share

2009 News Archive

Despite Guidelines, Wide Variation Found in the Use of Implantable Electrical Devices to Prevent Sudden Death in Heart Failure Patients
Friday, December 18, 2009

School of Medicine Appoints a Familiar Face to Newly Created Position of Associate Dean for Interdiciplinary Research
Wednesday, December 16, 2009

School of Medicine Receives $30 Million Grant to Coordinate a Consortium of National Stem Cell Experts
Tuesday, December 15, 2009

School of Medicine Holds Its First Translational Technologies and Resources Symposium to Spotlight Campus Core Facilities
Wednesday, December 09, 2009

University of Maryland Medical Center Named as One of Nation's Top Hospitals for Safety and Quality for Fourth Year in a Row
Thursday, December 03, 2009

School of Medicine Students Served Up a Happy Thanksgiving to 400 of Their Hungry Neighbors in West Baltimore
Friday, November 27, 2009

School of Medicine Researchers Find Tobacco Smoke Exposure Before Heart Transplantation May Increase Transplant Failure Risk
Wednesday, November 25, 2009

AAMC Honors Dr. Robert Gallo With Its 2009 Award for Distinguished Research in the Biomedical Sciences
Tuesday, November 24, 2009

Strategic Plan Leadership Retreat Challenges Faculty and Staff Leaders to Create a Stronger Future for the School of Medicine
Wednesday, November 18, 2009

UMB and UMCP Continue Joint Competitive Research Seed Program to Foster Collaborations Between Investigators
Friday, November 13, 2009

School of Medicine Faculty Surgeons Perform Four-Way Kidney Transplant Surgery on Patients From Four Different States
Tuesday, November 10, 2009

School of Medicine Researchers Receive Nearly $5 Million in Stimulus Grants to Address Minority and Rural Area Health Disparities
Monday, November 09, 2009

White Coat Ceremony and Medical Family Day Officially Welcome the Class of 2013 to the University of Maryland School of Medicine
Thursday, November 05, 2009

School of Medicine Researchers Discover New Class of Molecules That May Help Prevent Fatal Kidney Disease Complication
Tuesday, November 03, 2009

Seventeen School of Medicine Faculty Make the Grade in Baltimore Magazine's 2009 Top Doctors Survey

School of Medicine Faculty Help Develop Survivorship Guide for African-American Women with Breast Cancer
Monday, October 26, 2009

School of Medicine Joins AAMC in Thanking President, Congress & Taxpayers for Stimulus Funds for Biomedical Research
Wednesday, October 21, 2009

School of Medicine Researchers Find Extreme Genetic Variability in Most Dangerous Malaria Parasite

The University Of Maryland School of Medicine’s Masters of Public Health Program Receives Five Year Accreditation
Wednesday, October 14, 2009

Ninth Annual Mini-Med School Offered Our Neighbors a Series of Free Classes on Improving Their Health
Thursday, October 8, 2009

Rajabrata Sarkar, MD, PhD Succeeds Stephen Bartlett, MD as the Barbara Baur Dunlap Professor of Surgery
Wednesday, October 07, 2009

Dr. Myron Levine Is Recpient of UMB's 2009 Entrepreneur of the Year Award
Friday, October 2, 2009

Navigating and Prevailing Through Challenging Times: Annual State of the School Address by Dean Reece
Thursday, October 01, 2009

Study Details Safe, Effective, Minimally Invasive Mitral Valve Repair Being Performed by School of Medicine Surgeons
Monday, September 28, 2009

The World Stem Cell Summit Comes to Baltimore, Spotlighting Many School of Medicine Faculty
Monday, September 21, 2009

The Southern Management Corporation Campus Center Celebrates Its Official Opening
Wednesday, September 16, 2009

University of Maryland Shock Trauma Center to Participate in New Clinical Research Consortium to Study Extremity Injuries
Monday, September 14, 2009

Local Lawmakers Experience a Day in the Life of Medical Students Thanks to Project Medical Education
Monday, September 14, 2009

University of Maryland School of Medicine Researchers Lead Multi-Center Heart Failure Studies Thanks to a $11.2 Million Grant
Wednesday, September 09, 2009

University of Maryland School of Medicine Researchers Test Immunotherapy Drug to Treat Newly Diagnosed Type 1 Diabetes
Tuesday, September 08, 2009

University of Maryland School of Medicine Researchers Identify Gene Variant Linked to Effectiveness of Popular Anti-Clotting Medication
Wednesday, August 26, 2009

University of Maryland School of Medicine Names Stephen N. Davis, M.B.B.S., as the New Chair of the Department of Medicine
Sunday, August 17, 2009

School of Medicine Wraps Up Third Annual Mini-Med School for Kids
Wednesday, August 12, 2009

Maryland Congressman Elijah Cummings Addresses Summer Research Program Graduates
Wednesday, August 05, 2009

Low Prevalence of HPV Infection May Be Tied to Poor Prognosis for Blacks with Head and Neck Cancer
Wednesday, July 29, 2009

University of Maryland School of Medicine Leads Early Trials of H1N1 Flu Vaccine
Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Alan Faden, MD, Appointed as Director of New Organized Research Center for Shock, Trauma and Anesthesiology Research
Monday, June 29, 2009

Institute for Genome Sciences at University of Maryland School of Medicine to Study Intersection of Human Genome and Microbial DNA
Thursday, June 25, 2009

Institute for Genome Sciences at the School of Medicine Establishes Genomic Sequencing Center for Infectious Diseases
Tuesday, June 02, 2009

Two Faculty Members Inducted Into Pass and Susel Academy of Educational Excellence
Thursday, May 27, 2009

Targeting Overactive Immune Response with Arthritis Drug Might Prove Effective in Fighting the Flu, New Study Suggests
Tuesday, May 26, 2009

Bidding Farewell and Good Luck to the Class of 2009
Friday, May 15, 2009

Distinguished Graduates Honored at Annual Student Awards and Scholarships Breakfast
Thursday, May 14, 2009

University of Maryland Cancer Specialists Test New Procedure to Treat Melanoma That Has Spread to the Liver
Tuesday, May 12, 2009

Symposium and Gala in Baltimore Mark 25th Anniversary of the Discovery of HIV as Cause of AIDS
Monday, May 11, 2009

A Global Call to Action From HIV Co-Discoverers Robert Gallo and Luc Montagnier
Friday, May 08, 2009

Institute of Genome Sciences Hosts an Open House in Their New Home - UMB BioPark II
Friday, May 01, 2009

What Killed Naval Hero John Paul Jones? An Historical Diagnosis Reveals the Answer
Friday, May 01, 2009

Faculty Surgeons Perform Novel Scarless, Single-Port Surgery Through the Navel of Kidney Donor
Thursday, April 23, 2009

University of Maryland Researchers Gain New Insight Into How Alcohol Consumption Reduces Risk of Lymphoma
Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Stem Cell Experts from the University of Maryland School of Medicine Speak at Baltimore Science Center's First Stem Cell Education Day
Tuesday, April 21, 2009

Shock Trauma Center Celebrates the Dedication and Expertise of Maryland's Emergency Care Providers
Monday, April 20, 2009

School of Medicine Surgeon Performs Pioneering Robot-Assisted Triple Bypass Heart Surgery
Friday, April 10, 2009

Leadership in Philanthropy: The Department Chair Who Left a Legacy
Friday, April 10, 2009

School of Medicine Professor Explores the Future of Medicine in New Book
Monday, April 10, 2009

Patient Awaiting Lung Transplant Is First in U.S. to Use New, Smaller Artificial Lung System Developed By School of Medicine Faculty
Friday, April 3, 2009

Surgeon with Expertise in the Growth of New Blood Vessels Joins University of Maryland as Head of Vascular Surgery
Friday, March 20, 2009

The Envelope Please: Match Day 2009 at the University of Maryland School of Medicine
Thursday, March 19, 2009

Celebrating a World of Good at the Annual School of Medicine Gala
Tuesday, March 17, 2009

University of Maryland School of Medicine Researchers on Team That's Cracked the Code of the Common Cold
Thursday, February 12, 2009

University of Maryland School of Medicine and Medical Center Implement New Policies Governing Physician/Industry Relationships
Wednesday, February 04, 2009

School of Medicine Faculty Member Featured in FRONTLINE Documentary on Parkinson's Disease
January 29, 2009

Legislative Day: Students and Faculty Visit the State House to Promote the School of Medicine
Friday, January 16, 2009

Orientation Helps New Faculty Get Acquainted With the School of Medicine
Wednesday, January 14, 2009

University of Maryland School of Medicine Researchers Identify Common Gene Variant Linked to High Blood Pressure
Monday, January 05, 2009

Search Articles

Contact

Contact Media Relations
Phone: (410) 410-328-8919

Contact Public Affairs
Phone: (410) 410-706-8518

Media Relations Team