Skip to main content

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. Why is the Department of Psychiatry in Baltimore? I thought the University of Maryland was in College Park.

A. The School of Medicine was established in 1807. It is the first public and the fifth oldest medical school in the United States and the first to institute a residency training program. The School of Medicine was the founding school of the University of Maryland and today it is an integral part of the 11-campus University System of Maryland. The health-related schools (medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, nursing and social work), as well as the school of law, are located in Baltimore.

Q. You must get a lot of money from the state.

A. Yes we do, but for a clinical department like psychiatry, less than 10% of our income comes from the state. Like most schools, the bulk of it comes from grants and contracts and clinical care.

Q. Why is your residency a merged one with Sheppard-Pratt?

A. Primarily because we represent two of the major clinical teaching centers in the state, and the merger of the two training programs allowed us to offer an expanded cirriculum, a bigger faculty and more varied patient populations.

Q. Where are you located?

A. On the west side of downtown Baltimore.

Q. How do I get there?

A. Directions to campus.

Q. Who is Dr. Lehman?

A. Dr. Anthony Lehman is the Professor and Chair, Department of Psychiatry, University of Maryland School of Medicine.