Skip to main content


Center Co-Directors

Andrew N. Pollak, M.D.
James Lawrence Kernan Professor and Chair, Department of Orthopaedics, University of Maryland School of Medicine

Dr. Pollak is a leading physician-scientist and is recognized nationally for developing innovative ways to diagnose and treat orthopaedic issues, while overseeing NIH-funded research  programs that study the mechanisms of the musculoskeletal system. A preeminent orthopaedic trauma surgeon, he has introduced two innovative surgical techniques to the University of Maryland's Shock Trauma Center and Medical Center to improve recovery after femoral shaft fractures and spinal injuries. Dr. Pollak has been instrumental in developing sports medicine programs at the School of Medicine for professional and college athletes. He was associate team physician for the Baltimore Ravens from 1996 to 2001, and since 2002 has served as a consulting orthopaedic surgeon for the team. As former chair of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons' Extremity War Injuries Project Team, Dr. Pollak was instrumental in producing evidence needed to establish treatment guidelines for the optimal care of wounded soldiers. He is Editor of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons’ Orange Book Series, an entire series of textbooks for emergency medical services (EMS) providers.

Kevin Anderson
Athletic Director

As the Director of Athletics at the University of Maryland, Kevin Anderson has led the Terrapins on a path that has begun with unparalleled success. During his tenure, Anderson’s influence in competitive excellence has guided Maryland to four national championships, seven national championship final appearances and 11 trips to the Final Four. With Maryland achieving success both academically and athletically, Anderson’s next important move was to ensure the financial security and sustainability for Maryland athletics for the foreseeable future. After 19 months of detailed and collaborative preparation, a transformational day for the University of Maryland arrived July 1, 2014, when Maryland officially became a member of the Big Ten Conference, ushering in a new era in Terrapin Athletics. Read full bio

Scientific Co-Directors

Alan I. Faden, MD
University of Maryland, Baltimore (UMB)

Dr. Faden is a leading medical researcher in the treatment of brain trauma and other central nervous system injuries. As director of the Center for Shock, Trauma and Anesthesiology Research (STAR) & National Study Center for Trauma and EMS (NSC), Dr. Faden oversees multidisciplinary research focusing on brain injuries, concussion, critical care and organ support, resuscitation, surgical outcomes, patient safety and injury prevention. The NSC, part of the STAR research center, is renowned throughout the U.S. and internationally as a leader in research related to the causes, treatment and outcomes of traumatic injury and sudden illness, and is the first research center in the U.S. dedicated exclusively to the study of trauma, its complications and its prevention

Dr. Faden received his medical degree from the University of Chicago and neurology training at the University of California at San Francisco (UCSF). He is the David S. Brown Professor in Trauma, and professor of anesthesiology, anatomy & neurobiology, neurosurgery, psychiatry and neurology at the School of Medicine at UMB; and research professor of kinesiology at UMCP. He is the founding editor-in-chief of Neurotherapeutics and is on the editorial board of five journals.

Elizabeth M. Quinlan, PhD
University of Maryland, College Park (UMCP)

Dr. Quinlan is a neuroscientist who studies the impact of age and experience on the function of cortical circuits. She received a PhD in biology/neuroscience in 1993 from the University of Illinois at Chicago and postdoctoral training in neuroscience at the University of Virginia in the laboratory of Shelly Halpain, PhD, and Brown University in the laboratory of Mark Bear, PhD. She joined the faculty of the Department of Biology (CMNS) at UMCP in 2001, where she is currently a professor. She is a founding member and director of the Physiological Systems graduate program at UMCP, serves on the executive committee of the Neuroscience and Cognitive Sciences Program (NACS/BSOS) and is a member of the Steering Committee of the campuswide Brain and Behavior Initiative. Dr. Quinlan is an associate editor at Visual Neuroscience. She has pioneered the use of sensory deprivation to promote plasticity and “rejuvenate” circuits in the mammalian cortex to recover function lost by disuse. This work was recognized in 2010 with The Advancement of Science Award, Neuro-Optometric Rehabilitation Association.

Scientific Advisory Committee

University of Maryland, College ParkUniversity of Maryland, Baltimore
Patrick Kanold, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Biology
Institute for Systems Research
College of Computer, Mathematical and Natural Sciences
Peter B. Crino, MD, PhD
Professor and Vice Chair for Research, Neurology
School of Medicine
Wolfgang Losert, PhD
Professor, Department of Physics
Associate Dean for Research, College of Computer, Mathematical and Natural Sciences
Susan Dorsey, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor and Chair, Department of Pain and Translational Symptom Science
School of Nursing
Luiz Pessoa, PhD
Professor, Department of Psychology
Director, Maryland Neuroimaging Center
College of Behavioral and Social Sciences
Elias R. Melhem, MD
Professor and Chair, Department of Diagnostic Radiology and Nuclear Medicine
School of Medicine
Jonathan Simon, PhD
Professor, Departments of Biology and Electrical and Computer Engineering
Institute for Systems Research
A. James Clark School of Engineering
Peter Swaan, PhD
Professor and Associate Dean for Research, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences
School of Pharmacy
Amitabh Varshney, PhD
Director, University of Maryland Institute for Advanced Computer Studies
Professor, Department of Computer Science
College of Computer, Mathematical and Natural Sciences
Scott M. Thompson, PhD
Professor and Chair, Department of Physiology
School of Medicine
Bradley D. Hatfield, PhD (ex-officio)
Professor and Chair, Department of Kinesiology
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs,
School of Public Health