Skip to main content


Congratulations to CA-3 resident Olamide Ifaturoti, MD, who was recently announced as a winner of the 2018-2019 Resident International Anesthesia Scholarship program. The program is sponsored by the ASA Committee on Global Humanitarian Outreach (GHO), and is designed to send U.S. CA-3 anesthesiology residents to low-resource settings. Dr. Ifaturoti will complete a one-month rotation in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. An announcement of the winners was also featured in the October 2018 issue of ASA Monitor.

Congratulations to Baltimore Magazine's 2018 "Top Docs" recipients: Mark Dimino, MD and Stephanie Kahntroff, MD. View Top Docs directory.

Peter Hu, PhD, Associate Professor of Anesthesiology, has been invited to join the editorial board of Critical Care Medicine. He will serve a three-year term. Dr. Hu’s current research focuses on developing machine learning based predictive algorithms for near and long-term patient outcomes based on the continuous analysis of vital signs from the field to in-hospital resuscitation to the intensive care unit bedside.

Several members of the Division of Trauma Anesthesiology were recently featured in the September 2018 issue of the ASA Monitor. Jonathan Chow, MD (center) and Maged Andrews, MD (right) are featured on the cover image. In addition, Justin Richards, MD; Bianca Conti, MD; Maureen McCunn, MD, MIPP, FCCM, FASA; and Yvette Fouche-Weber, MD contributed the article “Unique Resuscitative Therapies: ETC, REBOA and EPR.” Click here to access the full issue.


Congratulations to Colin Mackenzie, MB,ChB, MD(Res), Professor Emeritus of Anesthesiology, who recently earned his Doctorate in Clinical Medicine Research, or MD(Res), from Imperial College London. The focus of his research in this program was “Assessment of Surgical Performance”. Dr. Mackenzie was also recently featured in the Journal of the American College of Surgeons in the article, “Cadaver-Based Trauma Procedural Skills Training: Skills Retention 30 Months after Training among Practicing Surgeons in Comparison to Experts or More Recently Trained Residents."


Congratulations to Wei Chao, MD, PhD, who has been named the recipient of the prestigious 2018 Frontiers in Anesthesia Research Award, given by the International Anesthesia Research Society (IARS). This $750,000 award is only given by the IARS once every three years. Wei will use this funding to support his research into the molecular pathogenesis of sepsis. Read more about the award here.

On Tuesday March 6th, Dr. Maureen McCunn, Professor, Division of Trauma Anesthesia, joined a team of physicians and nurses from the Shock Trauma Center, and the Maryland Committee on Trauma, to teach “Stop the Bleed” techniques to senators, delegates, lobbyists and staff at the historic Statehouse of Maryland, where Governor Hogan was in attendance. Dr. McCunn was the only anesthesiologist to join this effort. This training is offered twice/month at Shock Trauma, and will be included free of charge for anyone at the 2018 ASA annual meeting who is registered for the Trauma Skills workshops or at the Stop the Bleed training for mass casualty.

The Blue Ridge Institute for Medical Research has released their 2017 rankings of NIH funding to Medical Schools throughout the country. The Department of Anesthesiology at the University of Maryland, Baltimore increased its overall funding by about 21% and maintained its position at #11 nationwide. Congratulations to the investigators whose hard work, dedication, innovation, and commitment to discovery continue to propel the Department forward as a research powerhouse.

Department News Archive